menuicon
FR | EN | ES | DE| RU | CH

R & D


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

Haycarb est à la pointe de la technologie du charbon actif. Nous créons et fabriquons du charbon personnalisé qui répondent aux exigences de qualité le plus stricte.

Haycarb valorise le plus la qualité de produit quand on sert les clients. On a une équipe de personnels internes très solides de R&D  de plus de 20 chimistes et des ingénieurs chimiques, qui sont commis à assurer la qualité de produit la plus élevée. Dans ce cas, toutes nos offres de produits sont appuyées par une équipe de R&D disponible sur le site à chacun de nos sites de fabrication à Sri Lanka et à l’étranger.

Nos laboratoires de R&D sont équipés avec des équipements de pointe actuels d’effectuer des analyses spéciales et de standard du charbon. Nos chimistes bien qualifiés sont spécialement formés à conduire tous les analyses et les tests standards nécessaires pour assurer la qualité optimale de notre gamme des produits, et aussi toutes les exigences d’analyse qui sont spéciales et connexes d’application pour nos clients avec des besoins spéciaux du charbon.

Quelques équipements et quelques capacités spéciales d’analyse à nos laboratoires incluent:

  1. Spectrophotomètre d'absorption atomique, utilisée pour déterminer
    1. Des constituants métalliques dans le carbone (Na, K, Ca, Mg, Fe, Ni, Cr, Al, As, Sb, Cu, Mo, Si, Ag, etc)
    2. La capacité d’adsorption d’or
    3. Le taux d’adsorption d’or
    4. La compétence NSF Et Prop-65 du charbon
  2. L’analyseur de la zone de surface, pour déterminer:
    1. La zone de surface (Langmuir, BET etc)
    2. Le volume de pore
    3. La taille des pores
  3. L’analyseur de l’oxygène, de l’azote et de l’hydrogène
  4. L’analyseur du soufre
  5. Le mètre d’électrode sélective d'ions pour déterminer les teneurs du chlorure et du fluorure
  6. La teneur du nitrate et du nitrite du charbon actif
  7. Turbidimètre
  8. L’analyseur du soufre
  9. Analyseur de la dimension des particules par diffraction
  10. La détermination de la dimension de particules par le transformateur sonique
  11. La température d’allumage du charbon

De plus, notre équipe interne de R&D fournit une gamme de services, à nos clients, qui ne sont pas limités :

  • Aux tests de datation carbone
  • A la recommandation du carbone
  • A l’analyse et la consultation du système
  • A l’analyse de performances du carbone

La régénération


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

Le charbon actif peut être régénéré plusieurs fois conservant la même capacité d’adsorption. La régénération offre des réductions de coût substantielles et restaure le carbone à 97% ou un plus grand nombre de sa capacité d’adsorption originale. Par ailleurs, la capacité d’adsorption, le recyclage de granulaire usé ou le charbon actif extrudé élimine la nécessité d’incinération ou les sites d'enfouissement.

Dans le cadre de nos services de régénération, on transport des filtres à charbon actif usagé des sites de nos clients à notre installation de régénération. Le charbon usagé est transporté hydrauliquement à nos réservoirs dans un système en circuit fermé pour empêcher la contamination d’environnement immédiat des polluants qui sont adsorbés sur le charbon. Ensuite, on régénère thermiquement le charbon à ses caractéristiques initiales. On fournit aussi les composants et élimine tous les contaminants de filtrage du site  avant de le remplir avec le charbon régénéré et aussi que le carbone vierge pour rendre au site du client.

Certaines particules de charbon actif casseraient  au cours de leur manipulation et le processus de régénération brûle certaines de ces charbons actifs afin de produire des particules légèrement plus petites qu’en moyenne. Cette perte se réconcilierait avec un nouvel apport d’une matière vierge.

Haycarb garantit que le charbon régénéré répond aux niveaux de performance du charbon de la fourniture originale.

Solutions Environnementales

Puritas Limited
25, Foster Lane,
Colombo 10,
Sri Lanka.

Tel : (+94) 11 2683963
Hotline : (+94) 112688588
Tel/Fax : (+94) 11 2687721

Email : puritas@haycarb.com

Notre stratégie avant d'intégration de développer le matériel de purification et des secteurs de systèmes de l’ingénierie environnementaux d’activité est entreprise par notre filiale Puritas (Pvt) Ltd. Puritas est bien systématisé avec les alliances stratégiques nécessaires et les compétences internes pour séparer l’utilisation de l'eau en grande et moyenne échelle, dont Sri Lanka offre après la guerre.

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd a été à la pointe de la fourniture des solutions d'approvisionnement en eau  et en eaux usées avec plus de 250 usines de traitement au Sri Lanka et à la République des Maldives, traitant plus de 20 millions de litres d'eau et des eaux usées par jour. Avec plus de 19 années d'expérience dans l'industrie de la purification, Puritas (Pvt) Ltd, une filiale entièrement détenue par Haycarb engage à fournir une large gamme de produits et de services pour répondre aux besoins diversifiés dans le domaine de l'ingénierie environnementale.

  • Des solutions d'ingénierie de l'environnement et des systèmes clés en main pour le traitement de l’eau affluente et effluente y inclus des eaux usées pour des hôtels, des bâtiments commerciaux et des industries.

  • Grâce à une entente exclusive avec l’eau Veolia, le responsable mondial dans les services d'eau, et d'assainissement sont prévus pour les autorités publiques (National Holiday Resort - Passikudah)

  • Fournir des services de conseil pour la gestion durable de l'environnement
  • La fabrication et la commercialisation du charbon actif basé sur des produits de consommation tels que les masques (Oxypura) et des produits qui éliminent l’odeur (M.Fresh et Bin Fresh)

  • Offrir des produits chimiques de haute qualité qui permettent de purifier l'eau grâce à l’eau GE, USA
  • Offrir des forfaits CSR sur matière aux entités pour satisfaire les besoins des communautés moins privilégiées

 

Lakdiyatha (Pvt) Ltd

‘Lakdiyatha' est établi à entreprendre les besoins de l'infrastructure de Build Operate Transfer (BOT) sur le partenariat public-privé (PPP) autonome. C’est un résultat d'une collaboration exclusive avec l’eau Veolia, le premier opérateur mondial des services de l'eau, qui est formée comme une joint-venture entre Veolia Eau et l'Inde Puritas (Pvt.) Ltd

Lakdiyatha Pasikudah

Acclamé pour la mise en œuvre premier projet BOT sur la plate-forme de PPP dans le secteur de l'eau et des eaux usées au Sri Lanka, comme l'investissement de Rs. 185 millions. L’installation Lakdiyatha Passikudah est une usine de traitement centralisé à National Holiday Resort à Passikudah comprenant 930 chambres dans quatorze hôtels.

L’Usine de traitement se compose d'environ 12 kilomètres reliant le réseau de 14 hôtels et les autres espaces communs au sein de Holiday Resort. Celui-ci centralise afin de traiter et recycler les eaux usées vers les hôtels pour l'irrigation, assurant une baie de Passikudah non-polluante. Lakdiyatha a conçu et a construit l'usine et l'exploitera pendant 20 ans.

Puritas Sath Diyawara

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd a commandé sa première usine Reverse Osmosis (RO) en D10 Maithreepura, Padaviya sous leur projet RSE, 'Puritas Sath Diyawara' le 15 août 2014. Elle est financée, conçue et construite par le groupe Haycarb, sous la direction de National Water Supply et Drainage Board au Sri Lanka, cette plante fournira l'eau potable purifiée pour près de 1.500 habitants dans la région. Cela contribuera directement aux efforts à atténuer la propagation de la maladie chronique du rein (ICR), dans la province du Nord centrale et à élever les conditions socio-économiques des habitants de cette région.

Des études indiquent qu'une environ 400.000 personnes sont actuellement affectées par ICR, dont les hommes qui ont entre 15 - 60 ans sont les plus vulnérables. Fournir de l'eau purifiée s’est trouvé comme la solution clé. Ce n’est pas seulement pour éliminer ICR mais aussi pour inverser les effets de ceux qui sont touchés par cette maladie.

L’utilisation de la filtration membranaire d’osmose inverse (RO) avec les technologies de pré- et post-traitement personnalisé en fonction des paramètres de qualité de la source d'eau brute.

Solutions Opérationnelles


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

La conception et le développement.

Nous fournissons un soutien d’ingénierie, des évaluations techniques et des conseils sur les systèmes existantes, ainsi que de développer et fournir la conception et l’installation pour les industries, utilisant du charbon actif comme une solution. Les employés de Haycarb, une équipe interne des ingénieurs dédiés de plus de 25 tient pour responsable de la fabrication et aussi la conception pour les clients. Nos ingénieurs ont fondé des usines de charbon végétal activé  à l’étranger et ont engagé dans l’amélioration continue sur nos procédés de fabrication.

En plus, Haycarb fournit aussi les conseils techniques, la conception, le soutien d’ingénierie et la  régénération sur place.

Les services de stockage

La solution totale de Haycarb intègre des services de gestion de la logistique pour nos clients, il n’est plus nécessaire de tenir du stock de charbon supplémentaire dans leurs locaux. Haycarb peut contenir vos stocks de charbon supplémentaires dans ses entrepôts dans le monde entier afin d’expédier à vos locaux à bref délai.

Le stockage pour les clients est un des services unique que Haycarb fournisse dans le cadre de nos services étendus aux clients estimés. Si le charbon actif est essentiel à vos processus et vous voulez avoir des stocks supplémentaires à tout près, Haycarb retirera le fardeau à vous.

Les services logistiques

Nous fournissons aussi les solutions logistiques pour le déplacement de l’équipement et des produits à travers notre société-sœur Hayleys Advantis, un fournisseur de transport multimodal.

De plus, nous pouvons fret aérien en grande quantité comme une caractéristique spéciale de livraison aux emplacements, envoyés par des groupes représentés de messageries dans un délai de sept jours ouvrable après l’expédition.      

La formation des opérateurs

Un large éventail des services technique et de l’appui aux missions de Haycarb sont ciblés à vous assurer que vos opérateurs sont entrainés sur les systèmes de charbon actif et de garantir une performance optimale des systèmes et des processus.

Carbone verte


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

À Haycarb, nous avons un mandat d'entretenir et de maintenir un environnement  plus sain en prévenant la pollution dans nos processus de production et tous les domaines d'application de nos produits. En plus de 40 années d'exploitation, nous avons mis l'accent sur une mode «verte» de la vie: tout le chemin de générer notre nécessité électrique à partir des gaz résiduaires pour développer la première ligne mondiale des produits «verts» de carbone et  pour réduire notre empreinte carbone par un pourcentage marquant  de 137% au cours des 10 dernières années.

Le processus breveté de la  carbonisation verte de Haycarb est utilisé pour développer sa gamme de Charbons Actifs de NeutroCarb Premium, possédant  la plus petite empreinte carbone d'un charbon actif actuellement disponibles au  marché. NeutroCarb est d'abord une industrie mondiale.

Niveau de Haycarb « vert »

Avantages

On empêche l’émission de 890 tonnes du gaz méthane par an, autrement émis pendant la carbonisation traditionnel, à l’atmosphère, équivalent à 18.700 tonnes du dioxyde de carbone par an.

Le remplacement de la génération d’énergie basé sur le combustible fossile par ce processus renouvelable empêche une autre 32.000 tonnes de dioxyde de carbone par an (qui n’aurait pas été le carbone-neutre) d’être émis à l’atmosphère.

La prévention des émissions de gaz à effet de serre est environ 8 tonnes par chaque tonne produite du charbon actif.

Reconnaissance

  • Approuvé par et enregistré à la Convention cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC), en autorisant l’entreprise à commercer des crédits carbone certifiés dans le protocole de Kyoto.
  • Bénéficiaire du prestigieux “Prix Nationale de la science et la technologie” pour les matériaux et les processus écologiques en 2007.

Processus d’activation verte

Une fois que la carbone est reçu de notre processus breveté de carbonisation ‘verte, elle est convertie à la gamme NeutroCarb du charbon actif à travers notre processus d’activation et de finition écologique.

  • Le gaz résiduaire est un remplacement au combustible fossile : Nous chaudières ne sont pas allumés avec des combustibles fossiles traditionnels mais avec le gaz résiduaire produit par nos fours. De plus, on a amélioré nos systèmes de récupération de la chaleur alors que plus de 40% de l’électricité nécessaire est généré a travers de turbines à vapeur à nos usines. Le cycle est achevé comme  la vapeur d'eau à faible pression émis de turbines sont renvoyés a nous fours pour le processus d’activation -  chaque étape est orienté systématiquement à prévenir l’émission des polluants à l’atmosphère.

  • Le biomasse renouvelable comme un remplacement du combustible fossile : Nos gazéifiers allumés avec du bois seulement utilisent des sources renouvelables du bois du chauffage pour générer l’énergie nécessaire pour allumer les chaudières, des chambres et des séchoirs en assurant que à la complétion du processus, on émette uniquement des gaz carbone-neutres.  Le cycle naturel d’environnement est ainsi soutenu quand les sources renouvelables sont utilisées (i.e. des cultures énergétiques) comme le dioxyde de carbone est absorbé par ces plantations durables et des écosystèmes des forets desquels il a été libéré.

Conservation et gestion de déchets

Toutes les activités dans le procédé sont conçues vers la réduction de l’empreinte carbone de notre charbon actif.

  • Recyclage : On réutilise le matériau qui est traditionnellement émis à l’environnement comme déchets. A Haycarb, le carbone et la poussière du charbon ; tous les deux sont capturés par nos installations équipées des contrôles de poussière, sont utilisés à produire des charbons du plusieurs grades, en réduisant considérablement l’effet sur l’environnement causé par les déchets de production. On a aussi développé des procédés à optimiser l’usage des matériaux fins qui sont des hors-grades de la production, assurant un minimum du gaspillage et un contrôle supérieur des émissions.

  • Régénération : La régénération des carbones utilisés réduit des déchets et élimine le besoin d’incinération inutile ou les sites d’enfouissement. Notre procédé unique de régénération est très efficace, sans aucun chimique ou aucun gaz dangereux d’être émis a l’environnement. On ne libère tous les effluents qu’après les avoir converties à un état bénin.

  • Conservation : Pour nos procédés qui encore utilisent du combustible fossile, nous avons des modifications de procédé (come marcher les fours avec le bruleur éteint) pour assurer que l’usage du combustible fossile est minimisé dans le procédé de la production.

menuicon
EN | ES | FR | DE | RU | CH

R & D


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

Haycarb is on the cutting edge of activated carbon technology. We design and manufacture custom carbons that meet the stringent quality requirements.

Haycarb places vital importance in product quality when serving our customer needs. We have a strong in house team of R&D personnel consisting of over 20 chemists and chemical engineers, committed to ensure highest product quality. Therefore, all our product offerings are backed by a R&D team available on site at each of our manufacturing locations in Sri Lanka and overseas.

Our R&D laboratories are equipped with up-to-date, state of the art equipment to carry out standard and special testing of carbon. Our highly qualified chemists are specially trained to conduct all standard analyses and testing required to ensure optimal quality of our range of products, as well as all special application-related testing requirements for our customers with specialized carbon needs.

Some of the equipment and special testing capabilities of our labs include:

  1. Atomic Absorption Spectrophotometer, used to determine:
    1. Metal constituents in carbon (Na, K, Ca, Mg, Fe, Ni, Cr, Al, As, Sb, Cu, Mo, Si, Ag, etc)
    2. Gold adsorption capacity
    3. Gold adsorption rate
    4. NSF & Prop-65 competency of carbon
  2. Surface Area Analyzer, to determine:
    1. Surface area (Langmuir, BET, etc)
    2. Pore volume
    3. Pore size
  3. ONH Analyzer
  4. Sulfur Analyzer
  5. Ion Selective Electrode meter to determine Chloride, Fluoride contents
  6. Nitrate and Nitrite content of activated carbon
  7. Turbidity meter
  8. Sulfur analyzer
  9. Laser Diffraction Particle Size Analyzers
  10. Particle size determination by Sonic shifter
  11. Ignition Temperature of Carbon

Additionally, our in house R&D team provides a range of services to our customers, not limited to:

  • Carbon testing
  • Carbon recommendation
  • System analysis and consultation
  • Performance analysis of carbons

Regeneration


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

Activated carbon can be regenerated several times while retaining the same adsorption capacity. Regeneration offers substantial cost savings and restores the carbon to 97% or greater of its original adsorption capacity. In addition to adsorptive capacity, the recycling of spent granular or extruded carbon eliminates the need for incineration or landfill disposal.

As part of our regeneration services suite, we transport spent activated carbon filters from our customers’ plants to our regeneration facility. The spent carbon is transported hydraulically to our tanks in a closed loop system to prevent any contamination of the surrounding area by the pollutants adsorbed onto the carbon. We then thermally regenerate the carbon to its original performance levels. We also service the filter components and eliminate all contaminants within the filter at our site before refilling it with the regenerated carbon as well as some virgin carbon for return to the customer’s plant.

Haycarb guarantees that the regenerated carbon meets the performance levels of the original carbon supplied.

Haycarb also provides technical advice, systems design, engineering support and installation of regeneration systems onsite.

Classic regeneration of spent activated carbon is performed off-site in a furnace, rotary kiln or multiple hearth furnaces. The thermal regeneration process is similar to that used to manufacture the original activated carbon and is especially used where large tonnages of granular activated carbon are involved. Thermal regeneration can regenerate spent gas phase granular activated carbons where the adsorbed impurities have a high boiling point or are very strongly adsorbed, and for spent liquid phase activated carbons used in water treatment.

Some activated carbon particles will break during handling and the regeneration process burns off some of the activated carbon to produce slightly smaller particles on average. This loss will be made up with fresh input of virgin material.

The number of times GACs can be regenerated and the periods between regeneration vary significantly depending on the type of carbon and on its application. In solvent recovery, GAC can be used for up to 5,000 cycles.

Environmental Solutions

Puritas Limited
25, Foster Lane,
Colombo 10,
Sri Lanka.

Tel : (+94) 11 2683963
Hotline : (+94) 112688588
Tel/Fax : (+94) 11 2687721

Email : puritas@haycarb.com

Our forward integration strategy of developing the purification equipment and environmental engineering systems segment of business is undertaken by our subsidiary Puritas (Pvt) Ltd. Puritas is well positioned with the necessary strategic alliances and internal competencies to break into the large and medium scale water usage project market that post war Sri Lanka offers. 

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd has been in the forefront of providing water and wastewater solutions with over 250 treatment plants in Sri Lanka and the Republic of Maldives, treating over 20 million litres of water and wastewater per day. With over 19 years of experience in the purification industry, Puritas (Pvt) Ltd, a fully owned subsidiary of Haycarb engages in providing a wide range of products and services to cater diversified needs in the environmental engineering sphere.

  • Environmental engineering solutions and turnkey systems for treating influent and effluent water including sewage for hotels, commercial buildings and industries
  • Through an exclusive agreement with Veolia Water, the global leader in water services, water and wastewater services are provided for public authorities (National Holiday Resort - Passikudah)
  • Providing consultancy services for Sustainable Environmental Management
  • Manufacturing and Marketing of Activated Carbon based consumer goods such as Face Masks (Oxypura) and Odour removing Products (Mr. Fresh and Bin Fresh)
  • Offering high quality water purification chemicals through GE Water, USA
  • Offering tailor made CSR packages to entities in need by meeting requirements of less privileged communities

Lakdiyatha (Pvt) Ltd

‘Lakdiyatha’ is established to undertake Build Operate Transfer (BOT) infrastructure needs on Public-Private Partnership (PPP) platform. It is a result of exclusive collaboration with Veolia Water, world’s leading operator in water services, formed as a joint venture between Veolia Water India and Puritas (Pvt.) Ltd

Lakdiyatha Pasikudah Project

Acclaimed for implementing first ever BOT project on PPP platform in the water & wastewater sector in Sri Lanka, as the Rs 185 million investment. Lakdiyatha Passikudah’ facility is a centralized treatment plant to the National Holiday Resort in Passikudah comprising of 930 rooms in fourteen hotels.

Treatment plant consists of approximately 12 Kilometer network connecting 14 hotels and other common areas within the Holiday Resort to the centralized treatment plant to treat and recycle the wastewater back to the hotels for irrigation, ensuring a pollution free Passikudah bay. Lakdiyatha designed and built the plant and will operate it for 20 years.

Puritas Sath Diyawara Project

Puritas (Pvt) Ltd commissioned its first Reverse Osmosis (RO) plant in D10 Maithreepura, Padaviya under their CSR project, ‘Puritas Sath Diyawara’ on the 15th of August 2014. Funded, designed and constructed by the Haycarb group, under the guidance of the National Water Supply and Drainage Board, this plant will provide purified potable water for nearly 1,500 inhabitants in the area. This will directly contribute to the efforts to mitigate the spread of Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) in the North Central province and uplift the socio-economic conditions of the people of that region.

Studies indicate that an approximately 400,000 people are currently affected by CKD, of which men between the ages of 15 – 60 years are the most vulnerable. Providing purified water is found to be the key solution not only to eliminate CKD but to reverse the effects of those affected by it.

The technology used is reverse osmosis (RO) membrane filtration along with customized pre- and post-treatment technologies depending on the quality parameters of the raw water source.

Operational Solutions


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

Systems Design and Development

We provide engineering support, technical evaluations and advice on existing systems, as well as develop and provide systems design and installation for industries utilizing activated carbon as a solution. Haycarb employees an in-house team of over 25 dedicated engineers responsible for production design as well as systems design for our customers. Our engineers have set up green field activated carbon factories overseas and are engaged in continuous improvement of our manufacturing processes.

In addition, Haycarb also provides technical advice, systems design, engineering support and installation of regeneration systems onsite.  

Stock Holding Services

Haycarb’s total solution incorporates logistic management services. For our customers it is no longer necessary to hold extra carbon stock at their premises. Haycarb can hold your extra carbon stocks in its warehouses around the globe to be dispatched to your premises at short notice.

Stock holding for customers is one of the unique services Haycarb provide as a part of our extended services to the valued customers. If activated carbon is critical to your processes and you want to have extra stocks ready at close proximity, Haycarb is ready to take that burden off you.

Logistical Services

We also provide total logistical solutions for movement of equipment and products through our sister company Hayleys Advantis, a multi-model transport provider. Additionally, we can air freight large quantities to any location as a special delivery feature through group represented couriers within a period of seven working days from dispatch.

Operator Training

Haycarb's wide range of technical and field support services are targeted at making sure your operators are trained on the activated carbon systems supplied, and to ensure optimal performance of systems and processes.

Haycarb Green Carbon


Haycarb PLC Sri Lanka
400, Deans Road
Colombo 10
Sri Lanka

Tel: +94 11 262 7000
Fax: +94 11 269 9630

Email: inquiries@haycarb.com

At Haycarb, we have a mandate to nurture and sustain a healthier environment by preventing pollution in our production processes and all areas of application of our products. In over 40 years of operations, we’ve emphasized a ‘Green’ way of life: all the way from generating our electrical requirement from waste gases to developing the world’s first line of ‘green’ carbon products and reducing our carbon footprint by an impressive 137% over the last 10 years.

Haycarb’s patented green charcoaling process is used to develop its line of NeutroCarb Premium Activated Carbons featuring the smallest carbon footprint of any activated carbon currently available in the market. NeutroCarb is a global industry first.

Haycarb “Green” Standard:

Green Charcoaling Process:

The coconut shells are dried using waste heat from the process and charcoaled in mechanical reactors where there is no release of pollutant gasses into the atmosphere.

The pollutants (green house and acidic gasses) released during the manufacture of charcoal are combusted in a boiler to generate steam that is in turn converted to electricity via a steam turbine.  

The electricity generated is utilized to operate the plant with the excess supplied to the national grid.

Benefits

Prevents the release of 890 tons per annum of Methane gas, otherwise released during traditional charcoaling, to the atmosphere, equivalent to 18,700 tons of carbon dioxide per annum.

The substitution of fossil fuel based power generation by this renewable process prevents a further 32,000 tons per annum of carbon dioxide (that would not have been carbon-neutral) from being released to the atmosphere.

The prevention of greenhouse gas emissions is approximately eight tons for every ton of activated carbon produced.

Recognition

  • Approved and registered with the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), authorizing the company to trade certified carbon credits under the Kyoto Protocol.
  • Recipient of the prestigious National Science and Technology award for Eco-Friendly Material/Processes in 2007.

Green Activation Process

Once charcoal is received from our patented ‘Green’ charcoaling process, it is converted to the NeutroCarb range of activated carbon through our eco-friendly activation and finishing processes.

  • Waste gas as a fossil fuel substitute: Our boilers are not fired on traditional fossil fuel but on waste gases produced by our kilns. We have further fine-tuned our waste heat recovery systems so that over 40% of the electricity required is generated via steam turbines at our factory locations. The cycle is completed as the low pressure steam released from the turbines is sent back to our kilns for the activation process – each step systematically designed to prevent the release of pollutants to the atmosphere.
  • Renewable biomass as a fossil fuel substitute: Our wood-fired gasifiers utilize only renewable sources of fuel wood to generate the required energy to fire boilers, chambers and dryers, ensuring that upon the completion of the process, only carbon-neutral gases are released. The natural environment cycle is thus sustained when renewable sources of wood are used (i.e. fuel crops) as the Carbon Dioxide is absorbed by these sustainable plantations and forest ecosystems from which it was released

Waste Management & Conservation

All activities in the production process are geared towards reducing the carbon footprint of our activated carbon.

  • Recycling: We re-use material which, traditionally, is released to the environment as waste. At Haycarb, both carbon and charcoal dust, captured by our dust control plants, are utilized to produce different grades of carbon, significantly lowering the impact on the environment caused by production waste. We also have specially developed processes to optimize the use of fine materials that are the off-grades of production, ensuring minimal wastage and superior emissions control.
  • Regeneration: Regeneration of spent carbons reduces waste and eliminates the need for unnecessary incineration or landfill disposal. Our unique regeneration process is highly efficient, with no hazardous chemicals or gasses released to the environment. All effluents are released only after conversion to a benign state.
  • Conservation: For those of our processes still utilizing fossil fuel, we have process modifications in place (such as running kilns with the burner off) in order to ensure that fossil fuel usage is minimized in the production process